Windows DVD Maker

Mark Coffman's Windows Vista DVD Maker Tutorials and Help

Welcome to Windows DVD Maker Sign in | Join | Help
in Search

Windows DVD Maker does not recognize .avi format?!

Last post 09-13-2011, 3:27 AM by benwon. 14 replies.
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  •  03-16-2007, 7:53 AM 100

Windows DVD Maker does not recognize .avi format?!

Hello all,

I am new to Vista and DVD Maker, so I could use a little help.  I have been able to successfully burn DVDs from .wmv format, but when I try to add an .avi file it always gives an error message, stating that the file is either not valid or is corrupt.  Anyone know if I am doing something wrong, or if there is a fix available?  My digital camera makes video clips in .avi, and I really want to make DVDs from those clips.  Any advice would be welcome.  Thanks in advance!

Jay

•  03-16-2007, 12:23 PM 103 in reply to 100

Re: Windows DVD Maker does not recognize .avi format?!

though i too am new to dvd maker i believe that is so. heck i discovered this site while searching for a solution to the .avi problem. has anyone found a a way to get DVD maker to recognize .avi format?
  •  03-18-2007, 11:13 PM 109 in reply to 100

Sounds like ya  need a dvd decoder.

I use this  and it works for everything including sound.

I had some problems with my windows media center closing down when i attempted to acces my video library and this fixed that problem to!

ffdshow:

http://ffdshow-tryout.sourceforge.net/

It has the downloads for all versions of windows.

enjoy!

•  03-19-2007, 11:28 PM 114 in reply to 109

Thanks a lot!  Will download and try it now...
  •  04-01-2007, 8:47 AM 145 in reply to 109

I was getting errors trying to create a DVD using the Nero codec installed on Vista.

I downloaded and installed the ffdshow codec and it works a treat!

Thanks!

•  01-04-2008, 3:06 PM 670 in reply to 109

Thank you SO MUCH! I have been trying to fix this problem all night and all day. Bless you :)